As the popularity of Delta 8 is increasing, so is its misuse. All the states are making new rules and regulations to ban or regulate Delta 8 in their state. In this article, we are going to answer one of the most asked questions, is Delta 8 legal in Louisiana? Read the complete article to get all the information regarding the legality of Delta 8 in Louisiana.
Is Delta 8 Legal in Louisiana?
Yes, Delta 8 is legal in Louisiana but the government has restricted its use. In the last 2 years, there have been a lot of changes in Delta 8 THC Louisiana law.
HB 640 Law was passed in August 2021, which redefined the “Consumable Hemp Product” and limited the Delta 8 use. It had put the following restrictions on Delta 8 and other hemp products:
- Hemp products shall not be sold for inhalation.
- Hemp products shall not contain more than 1% THC (Both Delta 8 and Delta 9).
- The hemp products must be registered with the government in order to be sold in the market.
Not even one year passed and a new law came in June 2022. Louisiana passed HB 758 which further limits the use of Delta 8 and other consumable hemp products. As per this new law:
- Any hemp product shall not contain more than 0.3% Delta 9 THC and 1% Delta 8 THC + Delta 9 THC.
- Hemp edibles, tinctures, and beverages shall not contain more than 8 mg of THC per serving (Delta 8 + Delta 9) and not more than 1% in total.
- Hemp products shall be sold to only people who are above 21 years of age.
What is Delta 8?
Now that you know, is Delta 8 legal in Louisiana, let’s understand what Delta 8 is? Delta 8 or Delta 8 tetrahydrocannabinol is a hemp plant extract. It is a psychoactive and intoxicating substance that can get you high, though its effect is not as high as Delta 9. It does not make you anxious, restless, or unconscious. Instead, it makes your body relax and gives you a euphoric experience.
It has several health benefits. It can make you feel relaxed and stress-free. Many people use it for its anti-inflammation and anti-cancerous properties. It is just like Delta 9, just a milder and less intoxicating THC.
Whether Delta 8 is Legal According to Federal Laws?
Honestly speaking, the legality of Delta 8 in federal laws is in the gray area. It has neither been declared legal, nor illegal. Actually, there is no particular law that makes it illegal and that’s why it is considered legal. All this is because of a loophole in the 2018 Farm Bill.
The 2018 Farm Bill very clearly stated that any product cannot contain more than 0.3% of Delta 9 THC. But the law did not say anything about Delta 8 THC and since then it has been considered legal. Though all States are free to make their own laws regarding hemp and hemp-derived products. Many states like Ohio and Kentucky are even taking steps to regulate it.
States Where Delta 8 is Illegal
Now that you know, if Delta 8 is legal in Louisiana, let’s have a look at the states where Delta 8 is illegal. The Federal Government has allowed all the states to make their own rules regarding hemp and hemp-derived products. For now, Delta 8 is banned in 14 states.
This list includes Alaska, Delaware, Colorado, Montana, Idaho, Lowa, North Dakota, New York, Nevada, Rhode Island, Oregon, Vermont, Utah, & Washington. Other states are also making laws to regulate or ban the use of Delta 8.
Future of Delta 8 in Louisiana
Now that there are proper laws and regulations, the future of Delta 8 in Louisiana seems stable. Any hemp product cannot contain more than 1% THC in total and 0.3% Delta 9. After all, THC is a psychoactive substance and its overdose can be fatal to people. Now the government should focus on the execution and implementation of Delta 8 Louisiana rules.
All in All
It is good that Louisiana has cleared all the doubts about, whether is Delta 8 legal in Louisiana with its Delta 8 Louisiana laws. Though the laws are a bit strict, they are the need of the hour. Because of the unclarity of federal laws regarding Delta 8, many reputed brands avoid making the best Delta 8 products. Other small and bad brands took advantage of this opportunity and started producing bad-quality Delta 8 products.
Delta 8 is an intoxicating substance, so it is very important to regulate its use and concentration otherwise it can be life-threatening for people. Because of Delta 8 Louisiana law, now only good quality and registered products can be in the market.
FAQs- Frequently Asked Questions
Q1- Where to buy delta 8 in Louisiana?
Since Delta 8 is legal in Louisiana, you can buy it both online and offline. You can buy it offline from the certified retail shop or online from the brand’s official website or other e-commerce websites. Though make sure that you buy products from a reputed brand. Also, check the price, lab test results, strength, potency, reviews, etc before buying a Delta 8 product.
It is better to buy Delta 8 online from the brand’s official website because they always offer discounts and free shipping on the purchase of a particular amount.
Q2- Whether Delta 8 is illegal in any state?
Currently, Delta 8 is illegal in 14 states, Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Lowa, Delaware, Montana, Nevada, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Utah, Oregon, Vermont, and Washington. Other states are also making laws to regulate or ban Delta 8 & its products.
Q3- Does Delta 8 show up on drug tests?
Yes, if you consume Delta 8 then it will show up on the drug test. To avoid this and any other further consequences, make sure that you only consume Delta 8 products that are from reputed brands and contain less than 0.3% of Delta 8 THC.